Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy
Protecting the World's Oldest Mountains

Support SAHC - Volunteer

Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy is a volunteer based organization. People volunteer their time for several reasons: they have a desire to “give back” to the community; they believe in the Land Trust mission; and they want to meet new people and have some fun. Whatever the reason, volunteers know they are helping to protect beautiful landscapes, local agriculture and open space in our community. Read about some of our recent volunteer stories here.

Interested in joining our team? Please complete the following form to help our staff match your interests with the volunteer opportunities available.


For more information on volunteer opportunities, please contact Cheryl Fowler at or 828.253.0095 ext 209.

The Stan Murray Award for Volunteer Services

In 1989 the Stanley A. Murray Award for Volunteer Service was created to honor persons who have made outstanding volunteer contributions to the work of SAHC, emulating the lifelong dedication of our founder, Stanley A. Murray.

Award Recipients:

1989 – Richard M. Currie, Jr., Kingsport, TN
1990 – Bob Harvey, Newland, NC
1991 – Ed Schell, Johnson City, TN
1992 – Darrol Nickels, Kingsport, TN
1993 – Helen Hollingsworth, Johnson City, TN
1994 – Arthur Smith, Kingsport, TN
1995 – Tom Gatti, Kingsport, TN
1996 – Harry R. “Hank” Gamble, Johnson City, TN
1997 – Dan & Rosalie Russo, Jonesborough, TN
1998 – William Smith, Asheville, NC
1999 – Jim Gears, West Chester, PA
2000 – Bob Young, Bakersville, NC
2001 – Frank Oglesby, Sr., Kingsport, TN
2002 – Dr. Charles T. McCullough, Jr., Asheville, NC
2003 – David Ramsey, Johnson City, TN
2004 – Anita Reilly, Kingsport, TN
2005 – Bob Harvey, Newland, NC
2006 – Maxine Dalton, Spring Creek, NC
2007 – Jim Gears & Karel Bernady, Chester Springs, PA
2008 – Rob Biller, Elizabethton, TN
2009 – David Hall, Roan Mountain, TN
2010 – Stephen Carr and Josh Peart, Asheville, NC
2011 – Mike Green, Asheville, NC
2012 – Warren Wilson Forestry Students
2013 – Carol Coffey, David Goforth, Mike Fisher, Jamie Burnham, Bill Ryan and Bruce Byers
for leadership of the Roany Boyz.

Donate Now

Connect with Us

Join Our e-mail list
* Email
First Name
Last Name
* required
Upcoming events

July 18 - 20
Grassy Ridge Mow-off
Highlands of Roan

July 26
Yoga on the Mountain
Fairview Farming Community

August 1
Razor Wit "For Love of Beer & Mountains" Partner Hike
Barnardsville, NC

August 9
Birding Hike with Simon Thompson of Ventures Birding
Highlands of Roan

August 22 - 24
Healing Our Backs w/ Yoga TM
with Lillah, the Back Whisperer
One Center Yoga, Asheville

SAHC in Recent News

Land Trusts to Create New Trail System in Hickory Nut Gorge
read more

National Trails Day
read more

SAHC Celebrates 40 Years
read more

In Land We Trust
read more

Mountain Brews
read more

40 Years of Service to the Highlands of Roan
read more